The University of Balamand completed an undefeated season to secure back-to-back Collegiate Rugby League Championships. In front of a vibrant home crowd, the hosts held LAU Varsity scoreless to win consecutive Championships thanks to a dominant performance from the Razorbacks forward pack.

UOB scored early to set the tone for what would be a hard day for the visitors. LAU lacked creativity, and their backline, which has been a lethal weapon throughout the season, failed to gel or prove any real threat to the defending champions.

Ali Abou Arabi scored three tries in his final game for the northerners, along with a try from Joseph Deghal, who also plays his last game for the University of Balamand. University of Balamand hooker, George Farah, was the mastermind behind his team’s victory, linking with half-back Joey Aslan and picking up the Grand Final MVP honours.

LAU Varsity will be proud of their achievement following a slow start to their season, coming up from last place in the CRL Division 1 Championship and knocking out their Beirut rivals in the Preliminary Final to secure their spot in the Grand Final for the second year running.

The players will now look at national representation in the lead up to the 2017 Rugby League World Cup, where the eligible players will play in a trial match.

Referee: Robin Hachache
Touch Judge: Remond Safi, Sol Mokdad
4th Official: Jad Esseily

Yellow Card: Ali Abou Arabi

Team: UOB
C. Jriej, J. Deghel, E. Bchara, R. Abboud, C. Abbass, J. Aslan, P. Kabsche, G. Farah, M. Tom, A. Abou Arabi, N. Moussa, G. Yazbeck, Subs: R. Mneimneh, M. Salman, S. Salman, K. Mekkary

Team: LAU Varsity
A. Marj, M. Younes, S. Richani, N. Dobeissy, A. Khoury, V. Kirouzabadie, J. Moorkar, N. Elia, I. Chidiac, S. Jabri, C. Irani, H. Saad, H. Yafi, Subs: N. Feghali, H. Murdaa, S. Bajwa, O. Doughan