LAU Varsity have secured their spot in the Collegiate Rugby League Grand Final for the second year in a row with a tight victory over AUB Varsity at the Charles Hostler Student Centre in Beirut.

AUB Varsity started strong, scoring first following a series of offloads to put the home team in front. The forward pack led by AUB Varsity stalwart Fouad Andari, who played his final game for the men in red along with two other senior players, was dominant in the middle of the park. They could not hold on to the lead and were down 16-4 with 20 minutes left in the game.

LAU Varsity bounced back well following their blowout loss against University of Balamand last week. Jonas Moorkar, picking up the man-of-the-match performance, gave the men in green much needed go forward ball. The backs were ruthless with fullback Andrew El Marj proving a menace for the AUB defensive line. The free flowing style of LAU Varsity and second phase play proved too difficult for AUB to contain.

A spirited comeback saw the home team come within 2 points of LAU Varisty; however, the late surge was not enough and LAU Varsity scored in the final play of the game to end AUB Varisty’s season.

LAU Varsity will now face the undefeated University of Balamand in a repeat of last year’s Grand Final.

Referee: Robin Hachache
Touch Judge: Rodrique Jbeily, Fred Beaini
4th Official: Jad Esseily

Team: AUB V
M. Ghaddar, H. Faycal, K. Mahdi, S. Talhouk, F. Khalife, A. Bowles, C. Nasr, K. Khodr, M. Mekari, M. el Moualem, C. Bouri, F. Andari, T. el Hage, Subs: A. Houjeily, R. Marrouch, I. Awad, M. Monteil

Team: LAU V
A. Marj, M. Younes, J. Sakr, N. Dobeissy, A. Khoury, V. Firouzabadie, J. Moorkaar, S. Jabri, S. Bajwa, C. Irani, H. Saad, H. Yafi, Subs: K. Hibri, M. Zain, G. Bitar, R. Mahdi